Fast changes see Timaru nurse latest recipient of leadership award

29 Jun 2017 | Building Leadership & Capability

The latest recipient of the Health Quality & Safety Commission’s Open for leadership award is South Canterbury District Health Board (DHB) charge nurse manager Olivia Pearson.

The Open for leadership awards are coordinated by the Commission. They recognise and celebrate health professionals who demonstrate excellent practice, quality improvement and leadership skills. They are part of the Commission’s work to build capability and leadership in the health sector.

Olivia Pearson is a charge nurse manager at Timaru Hospital. She was nominated by the DHB for her commitment to changing the ward in a number of ways – including decluttering the environment to make it safer for patients and staff, and improving the discharge planning process – despite only being in the role for three months.

Commission board deputy chair Shelley Frost presented the award this morning and says Ms Pearson’s exemplary leadership in a rural community makes her an extremely deserving recipient.

‘Olivia’s work in her short time as charge nurse manager reflects a real commitment to improvement. Her motivation is something commented on by all who are involved with her. Even a recent audit singled her out for praise,’ Shelley Frost says.

Ms Pearson says she finds her work extremely rewarding and is grateful for the recognition.

‘I feel very overwhelmed that I’ve been nominated for the award because I’ve only been in the role a short time,’ she says.

‘It’s wonderful. It’s all in support with the medical ward team. We work really well together and have a strong patient-centred approach, from our discharge planning to our multidisciplinary team involvement; how they all come together and contribute to the everyday running of the ward is a real benefit.’

As an award recipient, Ms Pearson received a certificate, trophy and free attendance at an upcoming Commission event of her choice.

For more information on the Open for leadership awards and to read more about other recipients click here.

Last updated 29/06/2017