Porirua team wins Open for leadership award

28 Nov 2018 | Building Leadership & Capability

A leadership team from the Porirua Union & Community Health Service (PUCHS) is the latest recipient of a Commission Open for leadership award.

The service’s Health Care Home leadership team was presented with its award by Commission Chief Executive Janice Wilson. The team is made up of GP lead Dr Simon Saena, nurse lead Ioana Viliamu-Amusia, practice manager Hiueni Nuku and senior administrator Jacqueline Ward.

Porirua Union Community Health Services team

Pictured (left to right): Dr Simon Saena, Janice Wilson, Jacqueline Ward, Ioana Viliamu-Amusia and PUCHS receptionist Demelza Thomas.

The Porirua Union & Community Health Service entered the Health Care Home programme in October 2017. Part of the focus of the programme is for practices to review their acute services and to develop ways to reduce patients’ use of secondary care services, if appropriate.

The programme leadership team found that between 2016 and 2017, Kenepuru Accident & Medical Clinic had the highest daytime presentation of all Porirua practices.

In response to this, they implemented several initiatives, including:

  • GP and nurse triage
  • a target for patient portal uptake
  • extended practice opening hours.

They also worked with the clinic to enable patients to be redirected back to the Porirua Union Health Services practice during daytime hours without needing to make an appointment. This was done using a designated mobile phone, carried by a named clinician each day.

The new services were promoted at the practice and the clinic via posters and leaflets created by the team, and through an advert in the local paper.

As a result of this initiative, 33 patients have been redirected from the clinic to the practice between May and July this year. Feedback from patients has been very positive and the continuity of care for some of the most vulnerable and complex patients has improved.

Allied health, scientific and technical educator Gayle Ryan and allied health social worker Emma Williams were runners-up.

The Open for leadership awards are part of the Health Quality & Safety Commission’s work to build capability and leadership in the health sector. They recognise and celebrate health professionals who demonstrate excellent practice, quality improvement and leadership skills.

Last updated 13/02/2019