Medication safety expert advisory group

The group’s role is to provide independent clinical expert advice to the Medication Safety Programme. It also provides advice on the safe use of medicines to cross agency stakeholders, including PHARMAC, Medsafe, NZ Formulary, and Ministry of Health.

The medication safety expert advisory group (EAG) replaced the District Health Board NZ Safe and Quality Use of Medicines Group, which was disestablished in 2011. The medication safety EAG meets every three months.

Download the terms of reference (121KB, PDF).

Meeting minutes

Meeting date Minutes
27 November 2019 Minutes (752KB, pdf)
4 September 2019 Minutes (858KB, pdf)
22 May 2019 Minutes (872KB, pdf)
27 February 2019 Minutes (107KB, pdf)


Meeting date Minutes
28 November 2018 Minutes (187KB, pdf)
29 August 2018 Minutes (393KB, pdf)
30 May 2018 Minutes (215KB, pdf)
28 February 2018 Minutes (140KB, pdf)
29 November 2017 Minutes (226KB, pdf)
30 August 2017 Minutes (289KB, pdf)
31 May 2017 Minutes (291KB, pdf)

The medication safety EAG consists of the following members:

  • John Barnard
  • Bev Nicolls
  • Beryl Wilkinson
  • Matt Doogue
  • Rob Ticehurst
  • Sandra Fielding (deputy chair)
  • Lucy McLaren
  • Gareth Frew
  • Sharon Kletchko

The role of chair is currently vacant.

Ex-officio members:

  • Charlie Charters
  • Sunita Goyal
  • Chris James
  • Nicolette McDonald
  • Janet Mackay
  • Andi Shirtcliffe
  • Bryan Simpson
  • Michael Tatley

Last updated 05/03/2020