opioids collaborative

Participants of the safe use of opioids national collaborative.

National collaborative team

Leadership and guidance of the collaborative was provided by the national collaborative team:

  • Avril Lee, clinical lead
  • John Kristiansen, project manager
  • Prem Kumar, quality improvement advisor
  • Beth Loe, medication safety specialist.

A steering group was established to provide oversight for the collaborative. The group was chaired by clinical lead Avril Lee and included the collaborative team as well as clinical specialists and a consumer representative.

Expert faculty

An expert faculty was established to identify possible opioid-related harm and measurement approaches that district health boards might choose to work on during the collaborative. The group met in late 2014 to discuss the range of potential opioid-related harms and measures, and these were collated for DHB collaborative teams to review: Download the library of potential opioid-related harms and measures

The expert faculty members include palliative care specialists, pain practitioners, anaesthetists and medication safety and quality improvement specialists, with the following members:

Avril Lee

B.Sc; M.Sc; PG Dip Mgt; MPSNZ; RegPharmNZ; MRPSGB
Clinical Lead, Safe Use of Opioids National Collaborative
Waitemata District Health Board

Dr Carol McAllum

Palliative Medicine Specialist, Clinical Director Palliative Care
Hawkes Bay District Health Board

Dr Michal Kluger

Anaesthesiologist and Pain Physician
Waitemata District Health Board

Dr Chris Cameron

General Physician & Clinical Pharmacologist
Capital & Coast District Health Board

Dr Wendy Pattemore

Palliative Care Specialist

Dr Murray Hunt

MBChB, Dip Obs, DCH, Dip Pal Med. Dip Ment H, FAChPM, FAChAM
Medical Director of Waipuna Hospice

Professor Stephan A. Schug

Prof Stephan Schug is a German trained specialist anaesthetist with an MD in pharmacology. Stephan is currently the Chair of Anaesthesiology in the Pharmacology and Anaesthesiology Unit of the University of Western Australia and Director of Pain Medicine at Royal Perth Hospital. He has previously worked for the University of Cologne, Germany, and was the Chair of Anaesthesiology at the University of Auckland.

Caroline Tilah

Director (Operations), Quality Improvement and Patient Safety (QIPS) Directorate
Caroline graduated as a Registered Comprehensive Nurse in 1991 and has worked clinically in the private and public sector, and has been working in quality at Capital & Coast DHB for the past 9 years. Since June 2013 she has led a multidisciplinary working group focussed on the safe use of opioids at Capital & Coast DHB.

Dr Kieran Davis

Clinical Director, The Auckland Regional Pain Service

Sue King

RGON, NP – Pain Management, MA (Appl) Nursing, PG Cert in Prescribing (Akld Uni)
Sue is a Nurse Practitioner in Pain Management who works in Waikato Hospital as a member of the Integrated Pain Services. As a prescriber, she has a keen interest in medicine safety and since 2012 has been involved in local initiatives to improve opioid prescribing practices. Sue has been an active participant at national level in the New Zealand Pain Society, and was lead author of the New Zealand Pain Management Nursing Knowledge and Skills Framework for Registered Nurses, which was endorsed by the National Nursing Consortium in 2013.

Last updated 22/07/2021