Maternal Morbidity Working Group logoMaternal Morbidity Working Group membership

The working group provides governance of the maternal morbidity work programme. The Maternal Morbidity Working Group has 12 members and is co-chaired by Mr John Tait and Arawhetu Gray.

Maternal Morbidity Working Group members:

  • Arawhetu Gray (co-chair) – planning and funding, Capital & Coast District Health Board (DHB)
  • Mr John Tait (co-chair) – chief medical officer, Capital & Coast DHB
  • Pauline Dawson – research midwife, Dunedin School of Medicine
  • Dr Lesley Dixon – midwife, New Zealand College of Midwives
  • Dr Matthew Drake – anaesthetist, Auckland DHB
  • Prof Cindy Farquhar – clinical epidemiologist in obstetrics & gynaecology, University of Auckland
  • Jim Green – chief executive officer, Hauora Tairāwhiti
  • Dr Seton Henderson – intensivist, Canterbury DHB
  • Dr Claire McLintock – haematologist & obstetric physician, Auckland DHB
  • Linda Penlington – consumer representative
  • Dr Craig Skidmore – gynaecologist and obstetrician, Hawke’s Bay DHB
  • Jenny Warren – consumer representative

The group is supported by Dr Leona Dann, maternity specialist, and Lisa Hunkin, policy analyst, at the Health Quality & Safety Commission.

Maternal Morbidity Regional Review Panels membership

Four maternal morbidity regional review panels have been established to cover the Northern, Midland, Central and South Island regions.

The regional review panels will analyse cases of severe maternal morbidity. The reviews will identify potential improvements to maternity care and focus on processes and system factors. The reviews will not focus on individual clinician practice. The review tool is available here.

We have appointed a pool of members to ensure each panel meeting has representation from all of the relevant disciplines. The panels consist of midwives, anaesthetists, obstetricians, intensivists, general practitioners and consumers.

Northern region review panel members
Name Organisation Role
Peter Stone Auckland University Co-Chair
Leona Dann Health Quality & Safety Commission Co-Chair
Annemarie Mitchell Waitemata DHB Intensivist 
Emma Farmer Waitemata DHB Midwife, hospital 
Isabelle Eadie  Auckland DHB Midwife, hospital              
Jennifer Blasingame  Northern DHB  Obstetrician 
Jennifer Taylor Counties Manukau  Anaesthetist  
Jesse Solomon    Consumer 
Jonathan Casement           Auckland DHB  Intensivist 
Juliet Walker  Auckland DHB  GP 
Katy Konrad  Counties Manukau Anaesthetist
Matt Drake Auckland DHB Anaesthetist
Raewyn Parke Northern DHB Midwife, LMC
Reshma Desai Waitemata DHB Obstetrician
Sarah Wadsworth Counties Manukau Obstetrician
Stuart Tiller Auckland DHB GP
Tim Parris-Piper Waitemata DHB Anaesthetist
Yvonne Hall N/A Consumer                                        
Midland region review panel members
Name Organisation Role
Margaret Norris Bay of Plenty DHB Co-Chair
Leona Dann Health Quality & Safety Commission Co-Chair
Angela Freschini Hauora Tairāwhiti Anaesthetist
Annette Forrest Waikato DHB Intensivist
Belinda Chapman Taranaki DHB Midwife, hospital
Chris Tse Waikato DHB Anaesthetist
David Freschini Hauora Tairāwhiti Anaesthetist
Diane Van de Mark             Hauora Tairāwhiti Obstetrician
Jackie Reetz Waikato DHB Midwife, LMC
Robert Martynoga Waikato DHB Intensivist & anaesthetist
Sharni Budd N/A Consumer
Sharon Howe Taranaki DHB Midwife, hospital
Vicki Higson Bay of Plenty DHB Intensivist & anaesthetist                

* Representative from Lakes DHB to be confirmed.

Central region review panel members
Name Organisation Role
Karen Daniells Capital & Coast DHB Co-Chair
Leona Dann Health Quality & Safety Commission Co-Chair
Andrew Stapleton Hutt Valley DHB Intensivist
Chloe Frei Capital & Coast DHB Other
Craig Skidmore Hawke's Bay DHB Obstetrician
Douglas Mein Capital & Coast DHB Anaesthetist
Elaine Langton Capital & Coast DHB Anaesthetist
Frances Alloway Capital & Coast DHB Midwife, hospital              
Inez Schmidt-Rademacher N/A Consumer
Jennifer Green MidCentral DHB Midwife, hospital
Julie Arthur Hawke's Bay DHB Midwife, hospital
Kirsten Gaerty Hawke's Bay DHB Obstetrician
Lucetta (Lu) Read Wairarapa DHB Midwife, hospital
Lucy Pettit Whanganui DHB Midwife, hospital
Meg Wilson Hawke's Bay DHB GP
Peter Abels Capital & Coast DHB Obstetrician
Rona Carroll Capital & Coast DHB GP
Sarah Machin MidCentral DHB Obstetrician
Siobhan Connor Hutt Valley DHB Midwife, LMC                                    
South Island review panel members
Name Organisation Role
Helen Paterson Southern DHB Co-Chair
Leona Dann Health Quality & Safety Commission Co-Chair
Anna Foaese Canterbury DHB Midwife / Well Child project manager
Catherine Ben Nelson Marlborough DHB Anaesthetist
Flora Gastrell Nelson Marlborough DHB Obstetrician
Janet Zyrini Nelson Marlborough DHB Midwife, LMC
Jenny-Louise Coster           N/A Consumer
Joanna Gullam Canterbury DHB Obstetrician
Kate Nicoll Canterbury DHB Midwife, LMC
Kim McFadden Nelson Marlborough DHB Obstetrician
Louise Hitchings Canterbury DHB Intensivist
Lynda Exton Canterbury DHB GP
Morgan Weathington Southern DHB Midwife, LMC
Patricia McIntosh Canterbury DHB GP
Rebecca Harris Canterbury DHB Midwife, LMC
Richard Seigne Canterbury DHB Anaesthetist
Sam Burke Canterbury DHB Midwife, hospital
Sarah Pezaro Southern DHB Midwife, hospital
Thomas Gough South Canterbury DHB Anaesthetist

Last updated 18/05/2017