The Commission is funding 20 scholarships to participate in a trauma quality improvement facilitator course, delivered by Ko Awatea in 2020. Key stakeholders were sent information about the course in late October 2019 and asked to apply to the Commission by 16 December 2019.

Applicants must have an active role in the management of trauma patients and be involved at a hospital or regional level in the organisation of multidisciplinary trauma care delivery.

During the 10-month course participants will be taught quality improvement theory and be supported to practically apply that theory by completing a project (related to one of the three areas below). The project must be strategically important to their organisation and to their patients and communities.

The three areas of focus are:

  • critical haemorrhage
  • trauma rehabilitation
  • severe traumatic brain injury.

On completion of the course, participants will have the skills and knowledge to be able to advise and guide improvement activities in their organisations, resulting in safer care for people and their whānau.

Visit the National Trauma Network website for more information.


Last updated 21/02/2020