This site has not been optimised for Internet Explorer due to Microsoft no longer providing support for the browser. Please view this site using another browser such as Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Health and Disability Services (Safety) Act 2001 (Ministry of Health)
Promotes the safe provision of health and disability services to the public. Service providers seeking certification under the Act need to demonstrate that their service complies with all relevant approved standards.

Health and disability services standards 2008 (Ministry of Health and Standards New Zealand)
Hospitals, rest homes, and some providers of residential disability care need to meet these mandatory standards. These are also mandatory for relevant service-based contracts that receive health funding.

There are four standards:

  • Health and Disability Services (General) Standard
  • Health and Disability Services (Core) Standards
  • Health and Disability Services (Restraint Minimisation and Safe Practice) Standards
  • Health and Disability Services (Infection Prevention and Control) Standards
  • Home and Community Support Sector Standard.

Hospice New Zealand Standards for Palliative Care 2019 (Hospice New Zealand)
This standard supports hospice services continuous quality improvement. In the longer-term other providers of palliative care, across many settings, will adopt or use the standards.

Cornerstone - Aiming for Excellence
Cornerstone assesses practices using the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners’ (RNZCGP) quality standard. The standard is for general practices who want to embed continuous quality improvement in the way they provide patient care.

Last updated: 27th October, 2022