This site has not been optimised for Internet Explorer due to Microsoft no longer providing support for the browser. Please view this site using another browser such as Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Maternal Morbidity Working Group membership

The working group provides governance of the maternal morbidity work programme. The Maternal Morbidity Working Group has 12 members and is co-chaired by Mr John Tait and Arawhetu Gray.

Maternal Morbidity Working Group members:

  • Arawhetu Gray (co-chair) – planning and funding, Capital & Coast District Health Board (DHB)
  • Mr John Tait (co-chair) – chief medical officer, Capital & Coast DHB
  • Pauline Dawson – research midwife, Dunedin School of Medicine
  • Dr Lesley Dixon – midwife, New Zealand College of Midwives
  • Dr Matthew Drake – anaesthetist, Auckland DHB
  • Prof Cindy Farquhar – clinical epidemiologist in obstetrics & gynaecology, University of Auckland
  • Jim Green – chief executive officer, Hauora Tairāwhiti
  • Dr Seton Henderson – intensivist, Canterbury DHB
  • Dr Claire McLintock – haematologist & obstetric physician, Auckland DHB
  • Linda Penlington – consumer representative
  • Dr Craig Skidmore – gynaecologist and obstetrician, Hawke’s Bay DHB
  • Jenny Warren – consumer representative

The group is supported by Dr Leona Dann, maternity specialist, and Lisa Hunkin, policy analyst, at the Health Quality & Safety Commission.

Maternal Morbidity Regional Review Panels membership

Four maternal morbidity regional review panels have been established to cover the Northern, Midland, Central and South Island regions.

The regional review panels will analyse cases of severe maternal morbidity. The reviews will identify potential improvements to maternity care and focus on processes and system factors. The reviews will not focus on individual clinician practice. The review tool is available here.

We have appointed a pool of members to ensure each panel meeting has representation from all of the relevant disciplines. The panels consist of midwives, anaesthetists, obstetricians, intensivists, general practitioners and consumers.

  • Northern region panel members
  • Midland region panel members
  • Central region panel members
  • South Island region panel members

Panel members

Last updated: 13th November, 2021