This site has not been optimised for Internet Explorer due to Microsoft no longer providing support for the browser. Please view this site using another browser such as Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

The Health Quality & Safety Commission is coordinating a national five-year MHA quality improvement programme to ensure people that experience mental health and addiction issues receive high-quality care and support.

The five priority areas identified by the MHA sector are included in the quality improvement programme during 2017–20.

1.  Aukatia te noho punanga: noho haumanu, tū rangatira mō te tokomaha
Zero seclusion: safety and dignity for all
2.  Te tūhono i ngā manaakitanga, te whakapai ake i ngā whakawhitinga ratonga
Connecting Care: Improving service transitions

Te ako mai i ngā pāmamaetanga me te wheako tāngata whaiora me te whānau
Learning from adverse events and consumer, family and whānau experience

4.  Te whakanui ake i te hauora ā-tinana
Maximising physical health
5.  Te whakapai ake i te whakahaere rongoā, i te tūtohu rongoā hoki
Improving medication management and prescribing


We know that quality improvement involves learning a whole new vocabulary and methodologies, and with learning any new skills there are going to be questions, challenges and bumps in the road for teams and individuals.The programme is being delivered by district health boards, non-governmental organisations and primary health care organisations teams across the mental health and addiction sector.

Last updated: 17th December, 2021