Te Rōpū members meet approximately once per quarter. Minutes from their meetings are available below.

2020 meetings

  • Te Rōpu hui minutes (24 September 2020)

    Date: 24 September 2020

    Time: 9am–12pm

    Chair: Ria Earp

    Members: Marama Parore, Hingatu Thompson, Dr Janice Wilson, Dr Fiona Cram, Prof Denise Wilson, Muriel Tunoho, Wi Keelan\

    In attendance: Stephanie Turner, Heidi Cannell, Kim Dougall, Huataki Whareaitu, Ella Novak, Alexis Wevers (minute taker)

    Guests: Catherine Gerard, Avril MacFarlane

    Apologies: Assoc. Prof Sue Crengle, Dr Tania Riddell

    • Te Rōpū members shared their individual learnings and challenges following COVID-19.
    • There have been increases in funding to Kaupapa Māori services in response to COVID-19 but there were concerns about how this funding would be distributed. There are also implications for how mental health & addiction services are funded.
    • The chief executive’s report was accepted. The Commission is focusing on its deliverable of embedding Te Tiriti o Waitangi into all its work.
    • Te Rōpū were introduced to the Patient Experience Survey cultural safety questions. The rōpū provided feedback on the recommendations made and suggested some changes to the wording. The rōpū was asked to provide contact details of other Māori academics who could review the changes.
    • An update was provided on the Te Ao Māori framework. The Commission working group has been developing its process and preparing for the engagement phase.
    • Te Rōpū agreed that the Te Ao Māori framework would be included as a regular update item in their future meetings.
    • The minutes of the 30 July 2020 meeting were not accepted as a true and correct record as there was not time to complete this action. There was a standing request for members to the review the minutes and forward any feedback to the Commission.
    • Post meeting note: the 30 July 2020 minutes were reviewed by the Chair and accepted. A reminder to review was distributed to the members but no other feedback was received in the time frame so they were presumed accepted.

    The meeting closed at 12.00pm.

  • Te Rōpu minutes (21 April 2020)

    Download the minutes from this meeting as a word or pdf file below:


Last updated 04/02/2021