This site has not been optimised for Internet Explorer due to Microsoft no longer providing support for the browser. Please view this site using another browser such as Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.
Te Pū rauemi KOWHEORI-19 COVID-19 resource hub

Support for people working in health during the COVID-19 pandemic. Find information about how you can support yourselves and others, including consumers, teams and colleagues which complements and aligns with Ministry of Health resources.

Kia āta kōwhiri Choosing Wisely

The Choosing Wisely campaign seeks to reduce harm from unnecessary and low-value tests and treatment.

New Zealand Qualifications Framework 
The New Zealand Qualifications Framework provides the means for recognising the skills, training and qualification levels for kaiāwhina. All qualifications – both secondary and tertiary – listed on the NZQF come with an assurance of quality that is recognised and trusted worldwide. Qualifications range from level two to six with the majority of kaiāwhina completing level 3 to 4. View a list of health and wellbeing-related qualifications on the NZQA website.

Kaiāwhina: Health and disability workforce pathway, September 2019 (broken link)
This chart shows the connection between the kaiāwhina workforce and qualifications pathways across levels, and qualification progression as kaiāwhina move into more advanced roles.

Advance care planning (Health Quality & Safety Commission)
Advance care planning discussions are an opportunity to understand what is important to patients; what matters and what makes life meaningful to them, making it easier to make treatment and care decisions on their behalf, if and when the situation arises. The Commission website provides tools and discussion points for health care professionals (broken link) to have advance care planning discussions.

Published: 8 Dec 2021 Modified: 27 Oct 2022